Electronic Accessibility (eAccessibility) 

Electronic accessibility, or E-Accessibility, refers to the ease of use of information and communication technologies (ICTs) by people with disability.

A set of standardized accessibility requirements for public procurement of ICT products and services should ensure that publicly procured systems do not introduce any accessibility barrier. CEN, CENELEC, and ETSI have jointly addressed the European Commission Mandate M/376, which was dealing in Phase II, with the development of a new European standard making ICT products and services accessible for all.
The work of M/376 phase II was managed by a CEN-CENELEC and ETSI Joint Working Group eAccessibility with UNE Secretariat and with the financial support provided by the EC/EFTA.

In January 2014, CEN, CENELEC and ETSI were pleased to announce the publication of the EN 301 549 ‘Accessibility requirements suitable for public procurement of ICT products and services in Europe’, as the first European Standard for accessible ICT products and services.

A revised version of EN 301549:2019 ‘Accessibility requirements suitable for public procurement of ICT products and services in Europe’ is now available on ETSI website and through the National Standardization Bodies and National Committees. The EN 301549:2019 is the most up-to-date standard for ICT accessibility, and was developed through an inclusive process with the active involvement of relevant stakeholders.

The new European Standard is complemented by a series of three Technical Reports (CEN/CLC/ETSI TR 101550:2014, CEN/CLC/ETSI TR 101551:2014, and CEN/CLC/ETSI/TR 101 552:2014), currently under review by the JWG . Together, these documents set out accessibility requirements that can be applied to a wide range of products and services related to ICT, including computers, smartphones and other digital devices, ticketing machines, websites and emails.

Through an agreement between the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), CEN, CENELEC and ETSI, the accessibility requirements contained in these documents are consistent with other global accessibility requirements.

CEN/CLC/ETSI/JWG eAcc – eAccessibility

Fernando Machicado

Constant Kohler
Programme Manager