European Standardization Organizations 

The three European Standardization Organizations, CEN, CENELEC and ETSI are officially recognized as competent in the area of voluntary technical standardization. The European Union (EU) Regulation (1025/2012) which settles the legal framework for standardization, has been adopted by the European Parliament and by the Council of the EU, and entered into force on 1 January 2013.

Cooperation of the European Standardization Organizations: Joint Presidents' Group

The three European Standardization Organizations cooperate on policy and technical matters of common interest. This cooperation is coordinated by the Joint Presidents’ Group (JPG). As its name implies, JPG comprises the Presidents and Vice-Presidents of CEN and CENELEC and their ETSI equivalents (General Assembly Chair and Vice-Chairs, and ETSI Board Chair), together with the Director General of CEN and CENELEC and the Director General of ETSI.


The JPG enables discussion of matters of common interest to the three European Standardization Organizations (ESOs). As the highest policy-making body in European standardization, it takes due account of political and economic developments likely to affect standards-making. It agrees a common approach to technical issues of interest to all three bodies, and towards standards organizations in other regions of the world, by arranging collaboration meetings and concluding formal agreements (as appropriate).