The Presidential Committee: Joint CEN and CENELEC governance 

CEN and CENELEC each have their own respective governance bodies: General Assembly, Administrative Board, Technical Board, Advisory Bodies and Technical Bodies.

The two European Standardization Organizations have created a joint structure to facilitate cooperation on strategic matters that are of common interests: the CEN-CENELEC Presidential Committee.

Presidential Committee 2021

The PC is composed of the two Presidents of CEN and CENELEC, the Presidents-Elect, the six Vice-Presidents and the Director General of CEN and CENELEC.

The Presidents
Mr Vincent Laflèche (CEN)
Mr Dany Sturtewagen (CENELEC)

The Presidents-Elect
Mr Stefano Calzolari (CEN)
Mr Wolfgang Niedziella (CENELEC)

The Vice-Presidents
Finance: Mr Jacob Mehus (CEN), Mr Ivano Visintainer (CENELEC)
Policy: Mr Christoph Winterhalter (CEN), Mrs Geraldine Larkin (CENELEC)
Technical: Mr Ruggero Lensi (CEN), Mr Frederic Vaillant (CENELEC)

Secretary: Elena Santiago Cid, CEN and CENELEC Director General


Roles and Responsibilities

The CEN and CENELEC Boards have agreed to define the roles and responsibilities of the National Standard Bodies (NSBs), the National Electrotechnical Committees (NECs) and the CEN-CENELEC Management Centre (CCMC) with the objective of ensuring a clear accountability within the system and to ensure that the national and European operational levels are consistent and complementary.