CEN and CENELEC’s Industry Advisory Forum (IAF) held a meeting on 22 January  

The CEN and CENELEC Industry Advisory Forum (IAF) met in Brussels on 22 January 2020 under the leadership of the CEN and CENELEC Vice Presidents Policy. The meeting was an occasion to take stock of the progresses made so far and determine outstanding key topics for the future.

IAF aims to provide a platform for dialogue on standardization with the industry. Its main objective is to identify standardization-relevant priority topics for industry and propose recommendations on which CEN and CENELEC can further act. Bert Nagtegaal, from FME (Federation of enterprises in the technological industrial sector), the Netherlands, is the Chair of the IAF.
On its first meeting in October 2018, IAF identified the following six priorities:

  1. New Legislative Framework (NLF)
  2. Construction Product Regulation (CPR)
  3. Cooperation with other SDOs
  4. Digitalization of Industry
  5. Standards development process
  6. International cooperation & global impact

Since then, IAF members have worked in dedicated groups towards producing recommendations from the industry to CEN-CENELEC on each topic. Recommendations on priorities 1 (NLF) and 2 (CPR) were approved in October 2019. Work on the other four priorities, currently at different degrees of maturity, is expected to be continued and finalised over the course of 2020.

Together with the implementation of the approved recommendations and the rest of the priority work in 2020, IAF members also explored, among others, how European standards can contribute to the European Green Deal. IAF was also engaged in providing the industry’s input to the definition of CEN and CENELEC Strategy 2030 at European level. 

For more information, please contact Andreea GULACSI.














CEN-CENELEC Industry Advisory Forum Members:

  • Karl-Heinz Mayer, Director Innovation, Codes and Standards Eaton Industries
  • Wim De Kesel, Group VP, Standardization Legrand / CECAPI
  • Dora Deboeure,   Product Validation Expert, Barco
  • Karsten Duer, Director, Global Standardisation and Product Regulation Velux
  • Ilari Aho, Vice President, New Business Development & CSR Uponor Corporation
  • Bernard Le Bris,  Standardization Responsible  Renault – Nissan Alliance
  • Yann Fromont,  Vice-President Innovation,  Schneider / T&D Europe
  • Andreas Starke, General Manager IT & Standards,  HARTING Stiftung & Co.
  • Uwe Wiesner, General Manager Corporate IP, Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft
  • Filomena d’Arcangelo, Environment and Technical Legislation Director,  Federazione ANIE
  • Ingebjørg Harto, Director,  Confederation of Norwegian Enterprise
  • Mircea Tudor, CEO,  Tudor Scan Tech SA MB TELECOM Ltd
  • Andrés Barceló, Director General, UNESID;
  • Anders G Lindberg, Director Research & Development Cooperation,  Scania CV;
  • Bert Nagtegaal, Product Regulation, Standardization & Conformity Assessment, FME - Federation of enterprises in the technological industrial sector/ Orgalim
  • Christopher Buxton, CEO,  British Fluid Power Association

All members have been nominated for a three-year mandate, renewable once.